Buying guide
Best standing desk frames to fit your own desktop
Chosen from what the Amazon listings state, not tested by us. How we pick
Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
Top picks at a glance
Compare them allBest overall
Maidesite T2 Pro Plus: 3-stage, 62 to 125 cm
It accepts the widest range of tops here, up to 220 cm long and 100 cm deep.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkBest value
Maidesite T2 Pro: 2-stage dual motor, 125 kg
It accepts the same wide range of tops as the T2 Pro Plus.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkMost features
Maidesite T2: tops from 100 x 50 cm, ChocoSense panel
It accepts tops as small as 100 cm long and 50 cm deep, so you can cut a top to fit an alcove.
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
Buying a frame on its own lets you choose the top: a solid oak worktop offcut, a deeper board for a big monitor, or an L-shaped top for a corner. The frame then decides everything else. Check the range of tops it accepts in length and depth, the height range in centimetres, whether it has one motor or two, the load rating and the controller. Also check the minimum top thickness, because thin boards can flex or fail to hold the screws. This guide compares seven frames from Maidesite, Flexispot, POKAR and a manual crank option, using only the figures in each listing. Where a listing does not state the load or preset count, we say so. Remember that the top adds its own weight, so subtract it from the load rating before adding monitors and a PC.
All products compared
- Maidesite T2 Pro Plus: 3-stage, 62 to 125 cm
- Tops accepted
- 100 to 220 x 60 to 100 cm
- Height range
- 62 to 125 cm
- Motors
- Dual
- Load
- 125 kg
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Maidesite T2: tops from 100 x 50 cm, ChocoSense panel
- Tops accepted
- 100 to 200 x 50 to 80 cm
- Height range
- 72 to 120 cm
- Motors
- Dual
- Load
- 125 kg
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Maidesite T2 Pro: 2-stage dual motor, 125 kg
- Tops accepted
- 100 to 220 x 60 to 100 cm
- Height range
- 72 to 120 cm
- Motors
- Dual
- Load
- 125 kg
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - POKAR L-shaped frame: 0 to 90° adjustable angle
- Tops accepted
- L-shaped, sides about 100 to 170 cm
- Height range
- 70 to 118 cm
- Motors
- Not stated
- Load
- 100 kg
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Flexispot E6 MAX: dual motor, 60 to 125 cm, USB
- Tops accepted
- 120 to 180 x 60 to 80 cm
- Height range
- 60 to 125 cm
- Motors
- Dual
- Load
- Not stated
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Flexispot Basic: single motor, 71 to 122 cm
- Tops accepted
- Not stated
- Height range
- 71 to 122 cm
- Motors
- Single
- Load
- 71 kg
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Manual crank frame: 71 to 113 cm, width 102 to 160 cm
- Tops accepted
- Frame width 102 to 160 cm
- Height range
- 71 to 113 cm
- Motors
- None, hand crank
- Load
- Not stated
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
| Product | Tops accepted | Height range | Motors | Load | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maidesite T2 Pro Plus: 3-stage, 62 to 125 cm | 100 to 220 x 60 to 100 cm | 62 to 125 cm | Dual | 125 kg | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Maidesite T2: tops from 100 x 50 cm, ChocoSense panel | 100 to 200 x 50 to 80 cm | 72 to 120 cm | Dual | 125 kg | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Maidesite T2 Pro: 2-stage dual motor, 125 kg | 100 to 220 x 60 to 100 cm | 72 to 120 cm | Dual | 125 kg | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| POKAR L-shaped frame: 0 to 90° adjustable angle | L-shaped, sides about 100 to 170 cm | 70 to 118 cm | Not stated | 100 kg | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Flexispot E6 MAX: dual motor, 60 to 125 cm, USB | 120 to 180 x 60 to 80 cm | 60 to 125 cm | Dual | Not stated | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Flexispot Basic: single motor, 71 to 122 cm | Not stated | 71 to 122 cm | Single | 71 kg | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Manual crank frame: 71 to 113 cm, width 102 to 160 cm | Frame width 102 to 160 cm | 71 to 113 cm | None, hand crank | Not stated | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
Details as stated in the Amazon listing or by the manufacturer. See the current price on Amazon.
The products in detail
No. 1 · MAIDeSITe
Maidesite T2 Pro Plus: 3-stage, 62 to 125 cm
A three-stage, dual-motor frame taking tops from 100 to 220 cm long and 60 to 100 cm deep, with a 62 to 125 cm range and 125 kg load. The most flexible frame here for almost any top.
In its favour
- It accepts the widest range of tops here, up to 220 cm long and 100 cm deep.
- Dual motors lift at a stated 32 mm/s, below 45 dB, with a 125 kg load rating.
- A 10-year limited warranty, USB port, child lock and sit-stand reminder are listed.
Good to know
- Tops must be at least 2 cm thick, which rules out some thin boards.
- At 27 kg the frame is heavy to carry and assemble alone.
Listing title: MAIDeSITe Height Adjustable Electric Standing Desk Frame Dual Motor
No. 2 · MAIDeSITe
Maidesite T2: tops from 100 x 50 cm, ChocoSense panel
A dual-motor frame whose legs span 100 to 160 cm and take tops from 100 x 50 cm, with a 72 to 120 cm range and 125 kg load. It suits small spaces where you want to choose the exact top size.
In its favour
- It accepts tops as small as 100 cm long and 50 cm deep, so you can cut a top to fit an alcove.
- Dual motors and a 125 kg load rating are stronger than any complete small desk here.
- The controller has 4 presets, a sit-stand reminder, child lock and anti-collision.
Good to know
- No top is included, which adds cost and a trip to a timber merchant or flat-pack store.
- A 50 cm deep top leaves little room between you and a monitor.
Listing title: MAIDeSITe T2 Standing Desk Frame Dual Motor, Electric Desk Legs
No. 3 · MAIDeSITe
Maidesite T2 Pro: 2-stage dual motor, 125 kg
The two-stage version of the T2 Pro, with the same wide top range and 125 kg dual-motor lift but a 72 to 120 cm height range. It suits average-height users who want a strong frame.
In its favour
- It accepts the same wide range of tops as the T2 Pro Plus.
- Dual motors and a 125 kg rating are stated, with 4 presets and a USB port.
- Maidesite quotes a 10-year limited warranty.
Good to know
- A 72 cm minimum may be too high for shorter users to sit at comfortably.
- The 120 cm maximum is lower than the three-stage frames here.
Listing title: MAIDeSITe Adjustable Height Standing Desk Frame Two-Stage Desk
No. 4 · POKAR
POKAR L-shaped frame: 0 to 90° adjustable angle
An L-shaped frame on three feet whose angle adjusts from 0 to 90°, with sides about 100 to 170 cm, a 70 to 118 cm range and USB-C and USB-A ports. It suits people who want to fit their own L-shaped or two-piece top.
In its favour
- The angle between the two sides adjusts from 0 to 90°, so it can fit odd corners.
- A touch panel stores 3 heights and has USB-C and USB-A charging ports.
- Anti-collision and a maximum of 45 dB running noise are stated.
Good to know
- No desktop is included; you need an L-shaped top or two joined boards.
- The listing does not say how many motors drive the frame.
Listing title: POKAR Electric L-Shaped Corner Standing Desk Frame | Angle Adjustable ...
No. 5 · FLEXISPOT
Flexispot E6 MAX: dual motor, 60 to 125 cm, USB
A dual-motor, three-stage Flexispot frame with a 60 to 125 cm range, LED display, 2 USB ports and anti-collision. It suits buyers who want a wide range and plan to fit their own top.
In its favour
- The 60 to 125 cm range is among the widest here, thanks to three-stage legs.
- Dual motors and anti-collision are stated, with over 20,000 test cycles.
- The controller has an LED display and 2 USB charging ports.
Good to know
- The listing does not give a load rating or number of presets.
- Tops must be 60 to 80 cm deep and 120 to 180 cm long, so smaller tops will not fit.
Listing title: FLEXISPOT E6 MAX Standing Desk Frame with USB Dual Motors 3-Stage
No. 6 · FLEXISPOT
Flexispot Basic: single motor, 71 to 122 cm
A simple single-motor, two-tier steel frame with a 71 to 122 cm range, a 71 kg load and plain up and down buttons. It suits a light setup where height changes are occasional.
In its favour
- A 71 to 122 cm range is wide for a single-motor frame.
- Five years on the frame and three on the motor are stated.
- Rubber feet and a beam-mounted adapter holder simplify setup.
Good to know
- There are no memory presets on the controller.
- The listing does not give the range of top sizes the frame accepts.
Listing title: FLEXISPOT Basic Electric Height Adjustable Standing Desk - 2 Tier Stee...
No. 7 · Generic
Manual crank frame: 71 to 113 cm, width 102 to 160 cm
A hand-crank frame in powder-coated carbon steel with a 71 to 113 cm range and width from 102 to 160 cm. It suits rooms without a handy socket or people who want no motor at all.
In its favour
- No motor or power cable is needed, so it can sit anywhere in a room.
- Frame width adjusts from 102 to 160 cm to suit different tops.
- Powder-coated carbon steel construction is stated.
Good to know
- A 113 cm maximum height will be too low for many people to stand at.
- The load rating is not given, and cranking takes longer than pressing a button.
Listing title: Manual Height Adjustable Standing Desk Frame Hand Crank White,Height A...
Read before you buy
- How to stop a standing desk wobblingReduce standing desk wobble: tighten frame bolts, level the feet, add support, choose the right top depth, and which frame designs tend to wobble less at height.
- Standing desk won't go up or down: fixesStanding desk not moving, only going down or stopping halfway? Check power, keypad lock, cables, overload, reset and uneven legs before suspecting the motor.
- Standing desk height chart by your heightRough seated and standing desk heights in cm by body height, how to measure your own elbow height, and how to check a desk's range fits you before buying.
- Do you need a standing desk for a walking pad?What a desk needs for a walking pad: extra height for the deck, space between the legs, desk depth, cable reach and frame stability while you walk, in cm.
- Can you plug a standing desk into an extension lead?Can a standing desk go on an extension lead or surge protector? What desk motors draw, UK lead ratings, what not to do and where to mount the power strip.
More buying guides: Standing desks
Chair and Posture chooses every product independently, based on what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission on purchases made through the affiliate links above. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.